• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Hummvee tires/lift kits, 880 Dodge

MatthewH

I had thought of that, but it sits pretty high as it is, and i use the truck for my welding buisness, so i didn't want the truck way up in the air. Also, there is a suprising amount of room in the fenders, and honestly, i don't do much hardcore offroading, so i feel it will work alright.

wildbilly1760

That makes an awesome welding truck. What kind of welder do you have in it. Maybe show some pics of your set up. I am a welder at a coal company. Always wanted to go out on my own, and start a small business. bill

ironbulance

I would like to put hummvee tires on my newly aquired M887. I know that you need a 2" spacer to clear the tie rods, but not sure about the suspension lift. I have heard that an add a leaf will clear them, but also heard they will rub when the wheel is fully locked. What size lift do i need to clear brand new 37" tires without them rubbing the fenders at all?

Thanks in advance
MatthewH
I did a 4" lift still had to trim front fenders just a bit near bottom cuz when I got the body twisting off road it was hitting in a few places, I have 37"humvee tires on it with a set of aftermarket 10 " wide rims awesome traction

MatthewH

I did a 4" lift still had to trim front fenders just a bit near bottom cuz when I got the body twisting off road it was hitting in a few places, I have 37"humvee tires on it with a set of aftermarket 10 " wide rims awesome traction

I guess i forgot to post an update, with pics, that it is possible to mount 37" tires without a lift kit and only minor fender trimming. However, i did have to change to a later model year steering setup. Guess i'll have to get on that.

ironbulance