• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

IDLER ARM BROKE

Milcommoguy

Supporting Vendor
I used to work in the automotive parts industry. There are a lot of misconcenptions into what the NHTSA recalls do. The main point is to alert people of a problem. The secondary point is to promote compliance to ensure we don't have bad parts in the parts supply.

So lets say this isn't a one-off part failure, but someone selling unsafe parts (doesn't matter where they are made). What SHOULD happen is they are notified by owners of failures. They gather the parts and look for a systemic failure, and then can notify the public to inspect their vehicles for these parts and warn people to not buy them any longer.

(Doesn't matter if the manufacturer is Ford, GM, Moog, or some no-name chinese factory imported via Ebay or Amazon marketplaces.... NHTSA collects data and publishes warnings or recalls based on findings.)
All that you point to in the program makes for a good practice when applied. (I'am with ya)(y) Critical parts like this one... Would the NHTSA want data ? Maybe the BBB would be the place ?

It's a buyer beware market place. CAMO

frauhansen

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I ask myself two questions about the whole China garbage discussion.
How do I tell the difference between crap and good stuff?
Here with the Idler Arm, it might still be possible by referring to the grease fitting. But what if the Chinese guys also put a grease fitting on it or leave it off?
And, as already mentioned, the dealers claim it's all top quality. Whether unknowingly or knowingly.
You can't tell from the price either. I've also bought expensive garbage.

For things that are identifiable, we should link a list in a fixed thread.
Like...