• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1031 CUCV Alternator

KeelanDavis

Steel Soldiers Supporter
So I need to either rebuild or replace my passenger side alternator on my M1031.
Can I still buy an OE Delco-Remy alternator anywhere, or should I just rebuild it. Can anyone recommend a good replacement alternator and a good quality complete rebuild kit? I guess it doesn’t matter if it’s an off-brand if it works, but I’ve heard the non OEM alternators can be very hit or miss. I’m new to the CUCV world and the Forum, if there is already a thread for this then I apologize.

sneekyeye

Rebuilding them is not particularly hard if you have some tools and are handy. I did both of mine and the only trouble I had was one of the bearings was seized onto the main shaft of the alternator rotor. I bought kits from somebody on this site. I really don't remember who it was, it has been several years at this point.

KeelanDavis

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Rebuilding them is not particularly hard if you have some tools and are handy. I did both of mine and the only trouble I had was one of the bearings was seized onto the main shaft of the alternator rotor. I bought kits from somebody on this site. I really don't remember who it was, it has been several years at this point.
I’ve rebuilt a few other Delco Remys that came on airplanes, but I wasn’t sure if these CUCV alternators had any specific information I should know about besides the isolated ground. I’d like to get it done by next Saturday, March 2nd. Today is Feb 22nd, so that gives me 8 days. I’m debating on just buying a replacement alternator online and rebuilding the one I have later and just saving it for when I need it.

Guyfang

Staff member