• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M135 axle questions

citizensoldier

Ok guys I am new to the GMC M211/135 trucks but learning fast..
Questions:
#1 Are they both the same axles just with the hub flipped or the same with differnent offset rims? Or does one have a longer axle tube?
#2 Anyone have a blow up of how the front hub comes apart?
#3 Are these grease bearings or wet axles?
#4 Who has the best prices and parts supply?
#5 Its a two piece drum right?
#6 I see it has two wheel cylinders on each, Whats up with that?
:D :D :D :shock: :shock: :shock: :? :? :?

APM215

#1 Flipped hubs and the axles ARE the same. The brake drum will need a different spacing plate.
#2 Check TM9-8024 TO 36A12-1B-321. page 481 figure 270 and 271.
#3 Grease in the front wet in the rear. (after typing that it sounds so dirty).
#4 The brake drum will need a different spacing plate but you can use the old drum.
#6 works great you can lock the wheels even with the heaviest load.
I just flipped my hubs last year, it is not that complacdid. Just make sure you have the right spacing plate for the brake drum.

my 53 gmc had wet bearings on the back when I got it when I replaced the bearings I put it back together with the iner seal to make them dry . boyce equipment was the only place that had wear ring or sleave that fits on the axle (801) 393-0007 antelope valley (661)945-6788 has wheel cylinders in 2002 they where $ 26.00 each . only 12 per truck (ouch) they where made in Taiwan I have had no problems with the ones on my truck .kenny

citizensoldier