• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M211 build, guidance appreciated...

Hondo76251

The weight is the issue. The 6x6 is gonna top 8000# empty
I'm no expert on the 700r4, but I've seen them in some pretty well built rigs (500 hp+) albeit with some modification... As I recall, The shop that built this one put in some good aftermarket goodies, to the tune of an extra $400 or so... Like I said, I'm no expert, but I do trust the guys that built this tranny. It's nothing special, but even in stock form we used it to pull an 8000# load frequently (not counting the weight of the suburban) Mind you, we were not crossing the Rockies, but we were dragging that heavy trailer through a lot of sticky, thick mud (worse for the trans I'd say) but we kept it in 4 low because the tranny was already slipping when I bought the suburban... I think this trans would hold up just fine in the Duece, so long as you didn't try to destroy it...

ALL that being said... I may have found a good Indian trade for my old suburban w/700....

Hondo76251

So... I've also given serious thought to an NV4500 (have one or two of those around) or a 4L80e (got a few of those too)

Pros of the 4L80e
fairly strong, should function well with stand alone computer, Auto trans is nice for a lot of what I plan do do with the Deuce..

Cons:
expense of stand alone computer setup, complicating something that was once simple (I don't like computers...) I would use the spare tranny I have stashed for one of my daily drivers...

Pros of an NV4500
I prefer a manual, cheap to setup, no trans cooler, simple...

Cons:
Clutch to wear out. Harder to rock the truck out of snow or mud when stuck. linkages and pedals to install/alter