• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M925-A2 RV conversion.

tonyf84

My dream truck is an M925A2 and I want to build an enclosed trailer on the back and convert it to an RV/bug out vehicle. That would be such fun. I was working on the plans and trying to figure out how much it would cost and I decided to look into fuel economy. I wasn't quite prepared to learn it would cost me over $4000 to drive it from Dallas to Seattle and back. That has put a damper on things. I really want to do this project. Is there something I can do to improve fuel economy? Is there a more efficient engine I can put in it? Or perhaps there's just a better truck to base it on? I'm a complete noob so be gentle please.

muthkw25

Steel Soldiers Supporter
You might want to look at other options closer to you. There are a lot of trucks on auction right now that are closer that would still work just as good. Or look at other alternatives like a M109A3 with the box all ready installed. All you would need is some inside modifications and you could be set. It just depends on your budget and what you needs and wants are.

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
Tactical military vehicles were built to haul a variety of cargo, and sometimes troops, over various types of terrain under all kinds of conditions at slow to medium speeds while being operated by young soldiers that may or may not be interested in maintaining them. They do not make good over the road commercial vehicles or recreational vehicles except under certain conditions. I drive my M927A2 on one long trip per year and that about does it for me (pulling a 34 foot van trailer on a tow dolly). I don't worry about fuel mileage....when I do I'll buy a Prius.

tonyf84