• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP802A overload tripping

Bassfishin114

I am fairly new to the military genset world but have spent countless hours on this site reading and have found so much valuable information. I have my Mep802a hooked up to my house as a back up generator. Today I did the first load test and it was going good. I turned the oven on and it was pulling around 20amps and showing about 60-70% load ( no other circuit connected). After a minute it tripped the overload. I retried this multiple times and got the same result. Have L1,L3 wired to hot, N to panel ground, and it is unbonded at the generator. I do not have a grounding rod or ground connected. Should that be done and would that cause this issue? When it tripped there was no amp increase or load increase indicated. I let it run for about an hour at 40% load with no issues. Unit is running about 62hz/245v without load and 61hz/242v under 60% load. Can anyone lead me in the right direction? I skimmed through the TS section of the manual but didn’t see anything really related.

Last edited:

Scoobyshep

You absolutely should have the set grounded. In your case if you aren't switching the neutral, (which is most cases) leave the generator neutral-ground bond open and tie the generator chassis to the ground bar in your panel ( should be 4 wire. L1 L3 L0(neutral) and ground. As for premature tripping, I would check the actual current draw with a separate meter first.

Sent from my SM-S908U using Tapatalk

Bassfishin114