• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

North Carolina HMMWV Registration Experience and Tips (2023 + 2024)

honor first

I wanted to share my experience titling and registering a HMMWV in NC. This experience spanned late 2023 into 2024, so it is pretty fresh info. I also have some insurance experiences to share below.

I’ll start off by saying that I am a NC DMV expert. Not saying this to brag, but I don’t want any of the issues I lay out below being written off as amateur mistakes. These are issues that very well may come up for you, just trying to help prepare folks. I have registered 50+ cars in NC, all personal and not as a dealer, so I have spent a lot of time at DMV windows and counters. I take pride in being one of the few people that poor DMV lady sees that day that has everything lined up and there is no missing paperwork or questions that need be answered, usually as the person at the next window over is shouting at the other DMV employee, mad that they won’t let them registered a car with a NJ driver’s license, without NC residency, on a car registered in NY, that they don’t have a title in hand or lender letter on hand for. I also have extensive experience registering federal surplus vehicles without a title and with only an SF-97.

The long made short is this: PAY FOR AN IRON PLANET OBTAINED TITLE OR REGISTER WITH NO PAPERWORK AND SKIP THE SF-97! I detail below.

For anyone considering buying their first HMMWV, or for people who have done it, Iron Planet offers three paperwork options when buying:

• Nothing at all, you’ll have your invoice and payment receipt, and that is it. In NC, this will require a bonded title registration, a NC DMV License and Theft inspection, a surety bond, and then regular registration from there.