• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

olive drab gloss

1956_4x4

I'm thinking about going this direction with my 1031. It's currently painted CARC Desert Sand and absorbs every greasy fingerprint that gets close to it. It does not clean up at all... I'm a mechanic by trade and it does no good for me to show up at a station without a professional looking vehicle. A gloss vehicle can actually be cleaned.

Smitty

beaubeau

Back in the 70's at MCB Quantico. I remember a MV that was painted with a color code from Chrysler Corp, and it was as close to Marine Corps Green as anything else I have seen. If U want gloss, go to a Paint Dept at a local Parts store . U can even have Metalic added to paint for looks!

Elwenil

Beware, the formula for a gloss paint is not the same as a flat paint. If you use the same formula in gloss enamel, the color will be much lighter due to the gloss. Think back a few weeks to the CUCV that was painted at a shop twice because it didn't look right and the owner finally painted it himself because the gloss paint looked pea green.

1956_4x4

Elwenil said:
Beware, the formula for a gloss paint is not the same as a flat paint. If you use the same formula in gloss enamel, the color will be much lighter due to the gloss. Think back a few weeks to the CUCV that was painted at a shop twice because it didn't look right and the owner finally painted it himself because the gloss paint looked pea green.
I know we painted some with a gloss poly when I was in the military. The poly seemed to hold up well. I'd stop by and ask what the paint code was, but the last time I stopped in to vehicle ops the SSgt didn't even know what I was talking about when I mentioned a CUCV...

Smitty

emr