• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

PCB Engine Harness Connector Replacement

Dude82

Thanks to help from other posts, learning my way through the TMs. Root causing a wait light issue, broke the engine side connector of the PCB due to corrosion. Removed the old one, prepping to solder new one. The "D" "E" "F" wires are the thick gauge - glow plugs, power stud, and ground strap - wires in the middle of the connector. After stripping, there appears to be some residual insulation or something? Was thinking I'd try to burn it off? Just want to ensure I get a good connection with the new connector....thoughts? Knowledge of what it is?

Attachments

springer1981

FYI, I have no personal experience with the connector you are talking about but I have done LOTS of connectors and soldering. First, did the original connector have soldered connections? I ask because every connector on my HMMWV has crimp connections and not soldered. Whatever is on it can probably be lightly scrapped off using razor knife or exacto. Scrape away from you with the edge perpendicular to the wire so it is not cutting into it.

More importantly, back to crimp vs solder connection. Solder is not great or even good with high current connections because heat from the current can melt it. A crimp is a physical clamping of the wire that prevents the high current issue. Think battery cables for example, never soldered always crimped.