• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Propane Kit for 1009

tklm539

Ok, I am really new to the CUCV world,so feel free to frag away. I just stumbled into Bully Dog Propane Injection Kits information. If the #'s are true, serious gain in Hp and at 3.69 per gallon, serious fuel savings.

Does anyone have any experience? Will it cook a 6.2 m1009. My initial reaction was the old light that burns twice as bright burns half as long addage

poppop

The 6.2 is a diesel, right. If so i have never heard of running one one propane. I have a Chevy s-10 I bought from GL with a propane kit. The engine was locked and had to be rebuilt. Some pieces were missing from the propane kit and I don't have it running yet. From what I have heard mileage and power suffer when running on propane, but I use lots of propane on the farm and have it locked in right now for $2.15. I need to get that truck running.

mangus580

Armada said:
So propane can be used on engines with glowplugs without causing an 'incident'?
Yes. I think the systems are set up so the propane injects at a certain throttle position. your glow plugs should never be on at that point...

tklm539

It sounds like the propane does not flow until the motor is up and running.

. I really would not want to burn up the motor. The kit is around 750.00, but the tank is another 700.00 lits of $$$$ to try it out.

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
So how much better milage does propane get? $1400 plus the cost of propane, I better get an additional 20 mpg to shell out that kind of cash.

5tonpuller