• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

PSA for Silicone Brake Fluid

87cr250r

Yeah, I'm really on the fence with the DOT 3 conversion. I'm annoyed with myself because I've done the brake system one item at a time over 10 years. Master cylinder, rear cylinders, and now front. I've never had a good opportunity to just swap everything. Oh well, it's 37 years old and still stopped fine.

This is my first time rebuilding an automotive caliper, done many motorcycle calipers. Cheap parts but what a PITA getting the dust seal set right. Double check your work and push the pistons out with air. Use a 1.75" block as a stop for the piston.

WWRD99

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Yeah, I'm really on the fence with the DOT 3 conversion. I'm annoyed with myself because I've done the brake system one item at a time over 10 years. Master cylinder, rear cylinders, and now front. I've never had a good opportunity to just swap everything. Oh well, it's 37 years old and still stopped fine.

This is my first time rebuilding an automotive caliper, done many motorcycle calipers. Cheap parts but what a PITA getting the dust seal set right. Double check your work and push the pistons out with air. Use a 1.75" block as a stop for the piston.
I figured they can use either so I went with the dot 3 since it's very cheap and easy to get. I didn't rebuild anything first just used my pressure tank to push it out! Yes I would rebuild my calipers too, that's cheap and easy as well.

deank

Steel Soldiers Supporter