• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Remove fenders

Wick246

Unfortunately I have no experience on the truck itself, however when I disassemble stuff like that I like to have ziplock sandwich / freezer bags and a permenant marker handy. Place the bolts from each piece in it's own bag and immediately write on the bag itself what they go to. Keeps things from getting lost and reassembly is much easier.

red devils dude

Wick246 said:
Unfortunately I have no experience on the truck itself, however when I disassemble stuff like that I like to have ziplock sandwich / freezer bags and a permenant marker handy. Place the bolts from each piece in it's own bag and immediately write on the bag itself what they go to. Keeps things from getting lost and reassembly is much easier.
I do that and I use jar's.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Jed, they are pretty easy and there's 2 approaches. The headlight door comes off with the fender so unwire that as required. There are several bolts inside the fender that attach it to the cab and splash panel, remove those. Now heres where the difference lies. At the front of the fender underneath it attaches to a channel support that attaches to the frame with 4 bolts. Most folks unbolt the fender from that support but the bolts have springs on them and can be difficult to remove with rust and all. I pull the wiring out of the channel and unbolt the channel from the frame with 4 bolts and the fender is on the ground. Of course don;t forget the little things in your way such as horn wiring and air, turnsignal flasher and the like.

Low-Tech-Redneck