• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Spare Tire Mounting

adf5565

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I’m looking to mount a spare tire under the bed of my M1008. It has been missing whatever the original setup was so I’ll need to purchase or fabricate a mounting system. LMC sells what seems like the complete original mounting, however I’ve never used this setup before and not sure how easy it works. Is it worth getting parts from them? Or has anyone come up with a better way to mount the tire under the bed?

B203333C-41A5-4C2A-87E7-99EF274A1364.jpeg

Last edited:

Mullaney

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
I’m looking to mount a spare tire under the bed of my M1008. It has been missing whatever the original setup was so I’ll need to purchase or fabricate a mounting system. LMC sells what seems like the complete original mounting, however I’ve never used this setup before and not sure how easy it works. Is it worth getting parts from them? Or has anyone come up with a better way to mount the tire under the bed?

View attachment 879290
You might look for a Chevy spare holder on a square body truck.
Item #5 in the picture is a "must have" and clean is really nice to have.
Item #3 is pretty important too.

Word Of Caution: A flat on the rear can be dangerous. You just about can't get the spare off the under-bed cradle with a rear wheel flat. Then you use the factory jack with about a six inch square pad on the ground - and lift the flat off the ground - and it wobbles (or worse, the jack slips) and you get mashed.