• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Total NEWBIE from RI with Questions about M35A2 Practicality

Hello All-
Please bear with me for my ignorance or if I offend any of the true enthusiasts out there. I'm a fairly competent backyard mechanic and general jack-of-many-trades. I just wanted to introduce myself as Brian, and I have a few questions about the feasibility of the Deuce for a project i'm working on.

I am planning on building a tiny house on wheels so that I might meander about the country. When one location gets boring, I'll pull up stakes to find another suitable spot (wrangling and rambling as I call it). Such a house can be seen here
http://www.tumbleweedhouses.com/. The house I intend to build sits on a 20' tandem axle landscape trailer and will weigh in just shy of 7000 lbs. While there are a great many tow options out there, I thought about the feasibility of a bobbed Deuce to handle the job. I won't be towing this house on the interstate, just the "Blue Highways" or state roads. The fact that she doesnt want to go much over 50 is fine as I believe so much of life worth seeing is lost at high speeds.

I'm a budding diesel guy but I don't know much of the lds 465 multi-fuels other than what I have gleened from wikipedia and now this great site. I have yet to see one of these motors over 40,000 miles (it seems the military overhauled them all at low mileages). I understand that they would sit idling for hours on end in some cases, but I'm curious about their longevity. Unlike the government, I do not have unlimited funds, access to parts, and labor at my disposal. I'm guessing our government wouldnt have spec'd and stuck by this vehicle/engine combo for so long if it weren't a stout team.