• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Truck Captain of 923A1 New Guy

Stan Brothers

I am a new member to the forum because I was assigned the job of truck captain of a 923A1 1987 American General war machine converted to a brush truck in the volunteer fire service. I received the "promotion" because I am a retired electrical engineer and the company that added all ti 12 volt fire fighting equipment managed to completely ruin the new 4 twelve volt batteries that the chief had bought when we received the surplus units by way of the military.
Anyway I rewired the batteries and re-engineered the electrical side so I was given the mechanical too.
Thanks to the forum and reading many posts I know can say I have everything working or parts on order (windshield washer tank cover has broken plastic connectors-bad design) to make this warrior ready to leave the motor pool and return to service.
We carry two one inch booster reels and a thousand gallons of water with foam and can add 2 1/2 inch line if needed. We can pump and roll from both sides of this machine and can ford 6+ water if needed for rescue (hurricane country)
I must say I enjoy telling folks about this vehicle as it is the only fire service vehicle that can be converted to mount a machine gun if I read the operators manual correctly.
Thanks to all the posts that have helped me fix everything from the transfer case won't shift to frozen blower motor and about 13 other minor problems in between. I am a bit anal about having everything work as designed. (If designed well otherwise an engineering change is called for)
Captain of 129 Tiny-1210

Jbulach

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome Captain! We would love to see a couple pictures of your truck as outfitted, it sounds awesome.

Gralmk