• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Two little mysteries-Starter and Transfer case

Hey all, it's me again... I've spent the last week's free time working down the issues list and I ended up stuck on my starter, then skipped to the transfer case but thats a different story.

Back to the starter, it died last august and I had it replaced with one of those smaller ones because it was before I started learning to fix my own stuff and thats what the mechanic told me to do. 600 bucks later my wallet was sad and the truck started instantly. The warm temps certainly helped but it was an incredible change from the old 8 second crank. Then as time marched on it slowly started to start slower not dramatically but definitely slower I put this down to the cooler weather. The unsettling thing was it didn't go back to nearly instant even on relatively hot 60+ days still I didn't mind much as its a diesel in cool weather and I'm in no hurry.

The real trouble started about a month ago the starter would engage the flywheel and crank normally for a second then spin free. This would repeat 3 or more times until I'd get a grumbly smoky start and then I'm home free. After some research and watching a few videos I was confident it was the bendix and it was just dirty so I dropped the starter cleaned everything I could reach and reattached it. Same deal engage, disengage and spin. At this point I'm stumped and any help would be very much appreciated.