• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

WC-51 title VIN #

boondocker1943

First off, hi everybody, I'm new to this MV life style. I have been looking for a WC 51 or 52 for a little while and came across one last week. The owner emailed me a copy of the title and I was curious about the VIN #. Was wondering if anybody could give me some info on this please. the # is 2288758 or point me in the right direction where I could look it up. I am getting so hooked on owning a WW2 WC. Much thanks for all your help. Dean

snowdad

Congratulations on your find. I really enjoy mine. The number should start with either 815*****, 816*****, or 817*****. The number will be on the left front (Driver's side) frame rail between the bumper gussett and the shock. Let me know if you need anything else on this vehicle. Be glad to help.
Phillip

CatMan

WC-51 Title VIN #

Dean,

The 2288758 looks like the original USA registration number that would have been on the hood. When surplus vehicles entered private hands, there was that number in big 4 inch letters on the hood. My guess is that was how it got on the title. No one knew where to find the correct number on the frame. Great historical information that is missing from repainting hoods. But for a collector its a great bit of history, but not the vehicle serial number.

Snow dad is correct the vehicle serial number should start with 817XXXXX for a late war truck. The stamping is on the left frame rail. It may be very light.