• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Will a TPI intake fit without cutting

Mogman

Staff member
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I have no experience with this but you can do a body lift to give more clearance.

Barrman

Those TPI engines fit just fine in Chevy trucks that the 6.2 with a filter fit in. I actually seem to remember thinking the TPI intake looked short and small under the hood of a squarebody. I think it will fit.

The best way to KNOW is to measure from the crank shaft to the top of the intake. Then ask someone with a HMMWV intake and air filter 6.2 to also measure from the middle of their crank.

Mogman

Staff member
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Those TPI engines fit just fine in Chevy trucks that the 6.2 with a filter fit in. I actually seem to remember thinking the TPI intake looked short and small under the hood of a squarebody. I think it will fit.

The best way to KNOW is to measure from the crank shaft to the top of the intake. Then ask someone with a HMMWV intake and air filter 6.2 to also measure from the middle of their crank.
The air filter does not sit on the HMMWV intake manifold, there would be no room for it.
That C4 engine is rather anemic at 235HP would not be much of an upgrade, I was wondering why it was so cheap.

Mullaney

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
The air filter does not sit on the HMMWV intake manifold, there would be no room for it.
That C4 engine is rather anemic at 235HP would not be much of an upgrade, I was wondering why it was so cheap.
Might be that his HOA or his Wife are complaining "that old motor sitting around" has got to go!

Mogman

Staff member
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Another question I ask myself is should I put a LS in even if it cost a few more thousand dollars.