• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Windshield Wiper help...

Hi,
I'm a officer in a fire dept and new to the boards here... My department has a 1983 M35A2 that we use as a Forestry Fire brush truck. Over the years its come under some disrepair, and its become my job to bring it back to 100%. The first thing I'm having some difficulty with is the windshield wipers. Allegedly they have never worked right, but I'd like some info. on how they're supposed to work in the first place. I'm very mechanically competent, but just can't figure these out. I believe they work on some sort of vaccuum or air-assist system, but don't know...
Any help??

Thanks alot for any info!!!

Dan

also-- anyone know a good place to get a new j-pipe? just the flexpipe to the stack is all I need... thanks again!

FSBruva

They are powered by the air system... there is a little knob (1 inch diameter) on the dash to the left of the steering wheel that controls the air to them. It is reversed thread, so turning the knob to the right backs it out, and shuts off the air. To turn the wipers on, turn the knob to the left.

All of this is in the manuals, by the way. We have all of them here, (on the left, "Technical Manuals") or you can order the paper copies off Ebay. You'd be surprised how much you can learn by reading the instructions!!!

Low-Tech-Redneck

If they've budgeted you some funds to buy new parts, the easiest thing might be to just get new wiper motor units (assuming that the reason they aren't working is because they've just gotten stuck from disuse, not that they aren't getting air)

The wiper motors in our deuce were defective, one didn't work, the other only worked one way (blade would go out, but not return)