• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Windshield Wiper Inop

SoFloHMMWV

I have 2011 M1097a2 and the wipers are inop. By the engine block I found wire 57 not connected. I believe it is a ground wire for the wipers. Were is the best place to connect and is this the issue?

FlameRed

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I am a newbie but I had this problem also.

The issue usually is the contacts at the bottom of the windshield get corroded. When you measure the voltages at the leads on the motor the VOM kind of fools you as they are normal but not enough current to drive the motor.

In my case I have a helmet top and had no way of removing/raising that top to be able to tilt the windshield and get to those contacts so I just ran new hard wires. I believe I saw some replacement contacts available at the time if you can get to them.

Part #: 12339327

I was told to zap that area with some electronic contact cleaner from a spray can but of course that did not work for me. Worth it if you have some handy.

The experts will chime in with more authoritative info.

Good luck!

SoFloHMMWV

I am a newbie but I had this problem also.

The issue usually is the contacts at the bottom of the windshield get corroded. When you measure the voltages at the leads on the motor the VOM kind of fools you as they are normal but not enough current to drive the motor.

In my case I have a helmet top and had no way of removing/raising that top to be able to tilt the windshield and get to those contacts so I just ran new hard wires. I believe I saw some replacement contacts available at the time if you can get to them.

Part #: 12339327