• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

5-ton Ga to WV?

magneticanomaly

I'm trying to put together purchase of a long-bed 5-ton truck near Atlanta, Georgia, that will need hauled to WV, about 540 miles. $3 - $4 a mile will turn it from a good deal to a truck I can't afford.

It sounds like it is not too far from being able to go under its own power, but I can't get there to work on it until Spring and I doubt the deal will last that long.

I'm new to the whole long-distance thing. Ideas?

patracy

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
I assume this is about my M55 we've been talking about.

For what it's worth...

The truck does run and will move under it's own power. There's just air leaks and no brakes. If I had some spare DOT 5 I'd try topping it off to see if I could at least get brakes. The fuel return line needs to be corrected. (Some knucklehead plumbed it into the air tank) And the electrical system needs work. It can be jumpered to start though.

To flat tow it, it would need a towbar with axle clamps as the front bumper is missing. It was hauled to my friends shop on a lowboy. But if someone were to haul it, if they had a step deck with ramps, we should be able to load it that way as well. I wouldn't try flat towing something like this that much of a distance without servicing the wheel bearings at least.

It's at my friends shop, so it could be worked on there. CSI is nearby as well if any parts are needed.

magneticanomaly

Yes, it's your truck we're talking about. Were its ears burning?