• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

truck end of the trailer brake glad hands-standar or special?

res0wc18

so on the truck side of the trailer brake glad hands are they a special thing or just regular old glad hand receptacles? I see they have pipe thread that goes into a through frame fitting and has a shut off valve, so it looks like i only need the glad hand part

Last edited:

kc5mzd

They are standard. Any truck stop should have them. They also have the rubber gaskets that go in the glad hands.

DeuceNewbie

Ok this is really prob a bad question but i have no experience with these types of brake and air connections. i have just recently purchashed a deuce that i plan to pick up within the next two weeks...it is supposed to start but may have low tires.

is there on of these lines i can use to air up the tires? what sort of connections do i need to buy? do they sell an air hose connection that will directly plug into the glad hands?

any help would be much apprectiated...

thanks!

res0wc18

so i have a yellow and red glad hand. But the way i have been tinkering with it, is there not air in the lines only when you step on the brakes?

shepsjeep

Steel Soldiers Supporter
A tip: a truck driver friend of mine told me that if you get the neoprene gaskets for the glad hands they won't dry out as fast as the rubber ones. They also make a better seal.

res0wc18

my red valve is on the drivers side of the truck, yellow on opposite. My lines were simply cut off when it was bobbed and i only have air coming out of the drivers side truck line when the brakes are pressed?

Peepaw