• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

can a deuce ever be very reliable?

JT Wood

I've got my eye on a '72 m35a2 it looks really good I'd post pics but I don't think the forum will let me.

It appears to have a rebuild about 300 hours/ 3k miles ago.

It has little rust it's complete and apparently runs very good. It's 500 miles away so I can't just pop out to take a look.

As the title says, Can these trucks actually be made as reliable as a early /mid 70's pickup? I'd really like to be able to hop in one for a 3 day road trip without loosing sleep about breaking down.

From my reading, they seem to have very steady breakdowns. But I will be the first to admit, I am very new to this hobby.

To be honest I am about to purchase a late 50's pickup truck or a deuce. The intended use is for a fun vehicle for me and my boy to cruise on weekends, maybe the odd roadtrip/camping/fishing excursion, and maybe put it in a few local parades to advertise my construction company.

I know I can make the pickup uber reliable the parts are easy to get too.
Can I get the same reliability from a big MV?

(Im not talking burned out lights or windshield seals, I'm talking catastrophic transfer case breakdown or a blown turbo. Major repairs)

thanks. If I'm allowed to post pics I will certainly put a few of the prospective truck

John

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
Ehh, its a grab bag.

I've had a drain plug fall out of the oil pan while I was going 60mph and all I did was burn up the turbo. No oil pressure loss. The same truck was rolled onto its side during a training exercise. We flipped it back on its wheels and drove back to camp. You will hear about all the bad, but not much of the good.