• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

deuce valve lash

baxter

I will be checking my valve lash tomorrow and I have been searching and the tm says 10 on intake and 25 on exhaust but it seems most set them at 15 and 25 is this correct what are the opinions on correct valve adjustment thanks for any help.

Vaughn

Barrman

The engine has solid valve lifters. So, since engine parts expand and contract with temperature changes. There needs to be some slack in there. Otherwise, as they heated up, they would be too close and start to bend and break. The intake doesn't get as hot as the exhaust valve which is why the two valves have difference clearance values.

stumps

I am new to owning a deuce, so i don't know all of the lingo yet. what is valve lash?
It is vitally important that the intake and exhaust valves close completely when they close. To assure that this happens, the valve rockers are adjusted so that when the valve is closed, there is a small air gap between the rocker, and the valve stem. This gap is called valve lash. The lash has to be wide enough so that when the engine heats up, and the valve stems and push rods expand from the heat, that the valve will still have sufficient lash to assure the valves close completely. This is why valve lash is usually specified hot.