• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

1953 M37 stripped crankcase drain plug

Lenny

Hi Guys
I tried to drop the oil this morning just like I've been doing for the past 33 years. However this time I put the 1/2 inch drive into the drain plug and stripped it out. We tried using a cold chisel and a good sharp pair of vise grips on it. The cold chisel just sliced metal off the rim of the plug and the vise grips although initially on pretty good slipped off once we really reefed on it. We could not budge it. Does anyone know of a way to get this out without removing the oil pan? Thanks for any advice. Lenny

02smokemaker

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Try hammering a straight allen wrench of appropriate size into plug then remove!
Or you can sacrifice a extension put it in plug hole and weld 4 small beads on flats and presto!

Sent from my SM-N930P using Tapatalk

Last edited:

Lenny

The thought of welding something, like the sawed off head of a hardened bolt for instance, did occur to me but I was a bit afraid of subjecting the bottom of the crankcase and the oil to that kind of heat. Also the bottom pf the truck is pretty greasy, especially the outside of the oil pan and I as concerned about starting a fire. But I guess that we could take some precautions if you thing this would work I do like your idea of using the extension. It would fit down into the hole and in theory provide better support for the four welds. It might even allow for us to make them smaller as well. Then I could hopefully remove the plug with a pipe wrench. We have a Mig. Do you think that would be a better choice that a standard welder?

02smokemaker

Steel Soldiers Supporter