• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

1958 M37 flooded 7 years ago

vesman

I recently inherited a 1958 M37 that was completely covered in river water 7 years ago. I towed it to my house last fall and power washed all the mud off it. The oil plug was pulled to let that water out before the winter set in 7 years ago but that was all that was done to it. I recently pulled the drain plugs on all the axle's, mostly water came out. What steps should I take to get this ready to start up? I'm not a mechanic, so any advice will help me get this beast running again.

Thanks. I have attached some photos...

Attachments

m1010plowboy

Steel Soldiers Supporter
That's a big green Steel Soldiers Welcome!

I think if a truck looks that good after being stored in a river, I'm going to drive some trucks into a river. It's beautiful.

I can't play the mechanic role but one can guess that everything could be taken apart, cleaned, bearing and rusty races replaced, oil it up and go drive.

Some pictures of the tear down to see how things held up would help evaluate how much work you have. Remove the items you can like the valve cover and get some shots of the white goo....if there is any. The best part is you're further ahead than most of us that don't have a flood truck and your M37B1 has a birthday coming up on the 28th, so just another excuse to party.

Last edited:

Artisan

I am concerned about ICE expanding inside things.
Pray things are Ok but don't be surprised if it has issues.
Better yet, might be best to just spend a couple G's and
ship it to me in sunny So Kalif so I can dry it out proper!

One hellofa1stpost BTW!~ :)

vesman