• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

2.5 T Rockwell dimensions

ClassA6x6

Newbie here . . .

Can someone please point me to where I can get the ff info:

To start with, for front axle:

1. Distance from top of 3rd member to centerline of axle
2. Distance of the Center of spring pads
3. Wms-wms

Is there a Rockwell axle bible article here in the forums?

Thanks.

gringeltaube

Staff Member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
1. 4.01" (top of cover plate to CL; add .32" for bolt heads)
2. 31.75" (C-C, spring center bolts)
3. 78.9" (-> rear axle, hubs flipped)

Is there a Rockwell axle bible article here in the forums?
Not that I know...

Edit: sorry for my mistakes... first line above is top of cover plate to CL of driveshaft. DS-CL to axle-CL is exactly 6.75".

3rd line is for rear axle, with the hubs flipped. Front axle is 79.4", wms-wms.

G.

Last edited:

ClassA6x6

So from this link and the previous reply:

9.5 inches chunk height is for the rear axle
4.33 inches chunk height for the front axle (this is much less than I thought previously)

Just asking for confirmation.

Thanks

Edit: ok I think I get it, after looking at some pics. The 4.33 is the height from the center of the driveshaft, not the axle tube. So the 9.5 height is for both front and rear, and it's from the top of the axle tube.

Last edited:

ClassA6x6

So, next question: what's the offset of the center of driveshaft input to the center of the axle/housing?

I assume the housing is at center of axle tube and the offset is to the driver side.

gringeltaube

Staff Member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
So, next question: what's the offset of the center of driveshaft input to the center of the axle/housing?