• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

24 volts everywhere!

Chupacabra2

Hello all. I am new to Steel Soldiers. I have read several of the helpful tips, and plan on starting with the resistor bank bypass. I will most likely follow up with the 12v conversion (roscommon). I believe that something may be wired incorrectly, however, I'm not sure where. The problem started with the truck not starting, along with the "WAIT" light for the glow plugs not turning off. I discovered that 24v went straight to the glow plug relay and fried the plugs. I cut and insulated the wire coming from the glow plug resistors to the glow plug relay. Since then, I have used either in very small dose to start vehicle. The 12v bus at that time still read 12v, but I wasn't sure if I could tap into it for the glow plugs. Now I have 24v's everywhere. Even the 12v bus reads 24v. Since the wire from the resistor bank is removed from the equation, what could be causing 24v on all wiring? Could it be one of the alternators? going to check the 12v bus without the key in, or truck running. All input will be greatly appreciated.

TGP (IL)

I think I would disconnect the Batteries so you don't burn anything else up.
Probably to late, but disconnect them anyway, before you burn it to the ground.

You need to start reading the stickies and TM's.
Read,Read Read!

BTW,
Once the glow plugs burn out you will see 24 Volt at the relay coming from the resistor.
Resistor needs a load to resist, so as the plugs fail the voltage climbs until there all out.

As far as 24V at the 12V buss something is melted or the batteries wired wrong.
Have you changed anything Alt's,Etc. ?

And WelCome

Tom

Last edited:

Tinstar

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter