• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

3 Phase to Single Phase Step Down Transformers

3gunguy

Hey All,

Does anyone have any experience with these? They are about $2500.00 but If I understand them correctly ( I am a total novice), you can plug your 3 phase gennie into it....and out the other side comes single phase for your house without having to lose 1/3 of the gennie's power.

My thought on this is that even though its pricey, when you add it to the cost of a mep-804a, mep-004 or 805, 005...et al.... it is still cheaper than a commercial generator and way more durable to get the power you need to run a whole house, turn key without load balancing considerations.

Thoughts? Suggestions? Education?

rickf

The way I understand it those transformers draw full current on two legs and zero current on the third leg. I am not a generator guy but to me that seems like a bad idea. I am curious to see what the experts say.

Ray70

I'm waiting for the experts to chime in as well, but I believe Rick is correct. If so, there's really no point.... it would be no different from running the set in the 208V mode and pulling off 2 legs. I think all the "transformer" does is drop the voltage if you're using high voltage input.
Also, the 004 and 005 CAN easily be reconfigured to single phase because they are 12 wire generators. Only the 804 / 805 etc. have the 10 wire generator head which can not be reconfigured.

Evvy Fesler

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Placing a transformer between the generator and load can’t make single phase. It does, however, keep the generator in balance and distributes the heat from the generator to the transformer, a chunkier hunk of iron. This will help maximize the life of the generator.

3gunguy