• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

400hz gen sets able to do 60hz?

midcounty

I am new to the world of military generators, but thinking of picking up a 60kw unit. I understand they are all 3 phase, and that is no problem for my intended use. The ones I have seen are 400hz. Are the hz adjustable? Can they be set to a standard 60hz? Do you need to adjust them or will 400hz safely operate anything that 60hz will work? Thanks in advance ;)

Isaac-1

Unless you have a missile system you need to power most 400hz units are useless on the civilain market.

Ike

*the only exception is purely reistive loads that don't care about frequency, I have read they are sometimes used in the mining industry for lighting, etc.

Nonotagain

I am new to the world of military generators, but thinking of picking up a 60kw unit. I understand they are all 3 phase, and that is no problem for my intended use. The ones I have seen are 400hz. Are the hz adjustable? Can they be set to a standard 60hz? Do you need to adjust them or will 400hz safely operate anything that 60hz will work? Thanks in advance ;)
For the average person, a 400 Hz generator is a large paper weight.

You can't easily change them over. A 400 Hz machine will power resistive loads, aircraft or military radar equipment, but not much else.

If you are looking for a mil genset, look for a MEP-002 or 003. The 002 is a 5 k set and the 003 is a 10 k version. The 002 uses a 2 cylinder diesel, the 003 uses a 4 cylinder, both operating at 1800 rpm.

Chief_919

I was hoping for at least a 30kw, but no big deal. It was just a thought ;)