• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

5 Ton Issue

pwrwagonfire

Gentlemen,

Our 5-ton at work has this issue...
Apparently it runs and drives perfectly, but when you leave the truck to idle, it stalls out.

I know that this is cryptic....but any ideas on where I should begin looking this week? I searched the forum, but couldn't find anybody with the same issue

Thanks in advance!

porkysplace

Steel Soldiers Supporter
This must be a question for Carnac as there a lot of different kinds of 5 tons.
Cracked rubber fuel lines ?

pwrwagonfire

I will get the answers to these questions today for you guys! I'm unsure of the model, however I know it is a 1977. I will get that information.
I am new to this work location, and from what I am told it just developed this issue all of a sudden

swbradley1

Modertator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
5-ton, 1977 my guess is an 809 series with a NHC-250 Cummins. Next guess.

Vintage iron

I live in Mass. and I have a company that maintains 5 tons and 2 1/2 ton trucks. Give me a call and i can help you over the phone. Matt 617-650-2108

Floridianson

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I would add almost any 5 ton replacing all the rubber fuel lines will eather fix or help stop any future problems. If nothing else think of it as a pre-emptive strike.

pwrwagonfire

I would add almost any 5 ton replacing all the rubber fuel lines will eather fix or help stop any future problems. If nothing else think of it as a pre-emptive strike.

Good thought! Will check with the boss and see if this is do-able $$$ wise...I know that the fuel filters were replaced to try and solve the issue, but it didn't help

Floridianson

Steel Soldiers Supporter