• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

5 ton reliability

buckshot

I have the chance to purchase a m818 5-ton 6-6. I am currently working on a deuce. I want to run 16-20 tires. the 5 ton has the 250 horse cummins and the deuce has the 180 horse multi feul. i have no experience with either.which is more reliable?

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
They are both reliable vehicles if you take care of them.

The 5-ton will suck the bottom out of the fuel tank and you are pretty much limited to straight diesel fuel unless you want to try mixing Used Motor Oil or Waste Veggie Oil in it.

Just about everything on the 5-ton is heavier and more expensive to repair/replace.

I have owned both (M816 Wrecker and M-54 Multi-fuel Tractor) and find the deuce more practical to own and operate.

Your milage may vary.

KsM715

If your dead set on 16's you need a 5ton. Or a ton of money and fabrication skills to get them on a 6x6 deuce.

I'll trade you my stock deuce motor for that 180hp one you got.

Kalashnikov

I have the chance to purchase a m818 5-ton 6-6. I am currently working on a deuce. I want to run 16-20 tires. the 5 ton has the 250 horse cummins and the deuce has the 180 horse multi feul. i have no experience with either.which is more reliable?
After having a 5 ton and a deuce, I'd have the 5 ton if I could only have one. It's got decent power vs the deuce's uber slowness and you can fit the 16-20s stock. Expect to become uber slow again though from what I'm hearing witht eh 16s. Plus the 5 ton has power steering.

They are both reliable vehicles if you take care of them.