• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

5ton vs deuce

lfranz166

Well this is my first post guys

I have been reading posts on hear doing some research and yes im a noob with a tough decision to make

im going to buy my first MV as soon as my other car sells and my question is for a truck that will be a bobber would you go for a 5 ton or a deuce

im finding for what i want which is a truck with power steering and a winch i can get a 5 ton truck for nearly the same money as a deuce

the truck will see a fair amount of on road use, car shows, and Yankee lake truck night in ohio

Long term the truck will end up being similarly finished like robr's bobber

quarkz

Supreme Galactic Cleric
Steel Soldiers Supporter
If you do a 5T go with an older multifuel version then you can run WMO or ATF.
I think on the Cummins you can mix 50/50 or better w/ diesel.

Sirblissfull

Quarkz is correct 50 -50 WMO and Diesel runs well in the NHC 250s.

Personally I would not trade my 5 tons for a 2.5 I might buy a 2.5 to haul parts for my 5 tons though.

Its nice to have a small vehicle to run errands in after all.

hdmax

If you can get either for similar money, it is a no brainier! The 5 ton would me my choice without any hesitation whatsoever!
But with a 5 ton, I would never bob it!

Sirblissfull

Do not forget to check your local and state regs on the weight for a 5 ton if you do not have a CDL you might need one.

The insurance is also going to be more and your mileage will be half to a third that of a deuce.

On a long trip that REALLY adds up fast.