• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

802A Parallel operation ???

bohunk

Hi all... I am a newbie, so don't bite my head off if I've made a mistake and posted wrong... PLEZ!

I just purchased 2 MEP-802A gensets BECAUSE I was under the impression from reading the manuals that they could be paralleled using the proper cable. Well... the gensets worked PEREFECTLY once I found the proper filters and batteries; however, I found no parallel cable with either generator NOR did I find the "Unit-Parallel" switch that is required to operate them in parallel. I contacted the support department at Technology Research Corp (the company that made all the controls) and Doug couldn't tell me if the 802A has that ability. He suggested I contact this forum as you are the 'experts' when it comes to using these things... he just knows the controls. And BTW: because these units are 'current' military his company CANNOT supply any of the controls to us as end users. Luckily I don't require any parts as these started up and ran like they had eyeballs. And SO QUIET... totally amazing! Back to my issue... am I missing something here OR are the manuals incorrect? Can these be operated in parallel?? (without a PH D in generators)

Thanks in advance for your help.

ClarkeF

802A's and 803A's are not designed for parallel operation - there is no control or controls built in to sync externally. Some people have used the 002's and 003's in parallel mode by carefully timing the two units - but they aren't designed for it either. You can search youtube or here for a couple video's on how to parallel the gensets - but as I said, they aren't designed for it.

Keith_J