• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

A3 Tire Source

I'm a rookie here preparing for my first recovery of an A3. Thanks to a great SS member who assessed my truck I learned four tires are dry rotted and need replacement. Anyone know of a good source for 365/80R20's preferably in Texas, or the south?

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
HundredDollarMan out here in Lucerne, Ca probably has some. PM him, he might know of someone out that way.

Thanks 4x and SHM, for the options. I have been searching all day and did come across Expedition Imports but not Berg. It seems that Unimog's run similar tires as the A3's. Then I started scouting out Unimog sites for any crumb's leading me to good sources. I learned those folks have a bias towards the Conti's as they say they are quieter and the XZL's get louder with age. On Monday I have a list of suppliers to call. I'll keep you posted on the outcome.

Rustygears

Beware of those stock Michelins with old date codes. Your rotted tires, like many of the replacements you'll find surplus have DOT date codes that are over 10 years old. These tires don't age well and don't take abuse like a truck sitting on a flat for a long period. Such conditions ruin the sidewalls and are compounded by the tire compound used that decays relatively quickly when sitting outside for a decade.