• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Adding a turbo question

brainsboy

Just bought my first 1968 M35a2 mutlifuel truck a month ago and I have ran into a few questions that I havent been able to find. The last owner said originally the truck was a turbo model, then in 1989 the military rebuilt most of the truck and the turbo was taken off. I believe this to be true because the fender has a 4 bolt plate where they covered the old exhaust hole and the truck still has the exhaust stack brackets. Now the exhaust runs under the truck through a muffler and out between the two rear tires. My question is can I just add a turbo back on? Im an ASE certified mechanic but I have never really worked on diesels that much, and its a completely different animal than Im used to working on. If I add a turbo do I need to adjust the injection pump at all for the added amount of boost? How does the injection pump adjust for boost of a turbo?

engine tag says (1989 LDS-465-1 mains .010 rods .010).

Ben

stb64

What you have is an interesting mix of parts from different trucks.
In 1968 all M35A2 came from the factory with non-turbo LD 465-1 engines and vertical stack.
Your engine LDS 465-1 is from a 5ton truck and was originally turbocharged.
The horizontal exhaust system with muffler was used on older 1965-66 M35A2 trucks, also with LD 465-1 engine.

You can put a turbo back on with no problems, the original turbo for the LDS 465-1 (not -1A !) was a schwitzer model 4-456, but other turbos were widely used as a replacement by the army.