• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Air Pack Bad??/Time for rebuild?

weld88

So, picked up my first deuce and absolutely loving it. Truck runs great and drives great but im thinking i may have a bad aor pack (not real sure).. I am new to the deuce world but I do know I have the short style air pack ILO the long. I was wondering though exactly how you know if your air pack is going bad?? The reason I suspect mine is cause recently my air pressure is dropping quickly after shut off and sounds like I have a leak around my pack, does this mean my air pack is probably going bad if it's leaking air?

Any input or help with this is greatly appreciated!

Thanks

rosco

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Air Pack or not, you have to find the leak. There is a standard DOT test, that says that your air should not leak off for a certain time. If you have full air pressure, and you shut off the truck, how long does it take, before the buzzer comes on, at 60 PSI? Same thing, full air, shut it off with the brakes full on (foot on the brakes), how long does it take for the air to bleed down to 60 PSI and the buzzer comes on?

weld88

With the truck running and no brakes applied I can only build 90 psi once shut down without applying brakes it only takes about 2 min to bleed down. The leak sounds internal to the air pack. Where are common leak areas or problem areas I should look for as well?

Adrian A

Rebuild the air pack. Install a repair kit and hone it out. A small flap wheel and an engine cylinder hone will be the only special tools. I feel this should be done as initial maintenance on a recent purchase. This is not something you want to be unsure of.

welldigger