• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Air purging from the fuel system

Flatlander

I have a question about what the flow of fuel should look like when attempting to prime the fuel system.

First, I crack open the banjo bolt on the side of the secondary fuel filter while pumping the lift pump button. Then I crack open the 10mm bleeder bolt on the back of the IP pump and repeat the pumping. Fuel comes out of both, but it almost seems like air is coming out too. Kind of a "spitting."

Should this be continued until the fuel is coming out more smoothly, or is this "spitting" normal? I'm thinking there is probably a lot of air getting in, and that's what is causing this, but I've never done this before, so I don't know what it is supposed to look like.

Thank y'all!

74M35A2

If you only crack the banjo when pushing the primer, then it should be fluid only, like bleeding brakes on a car. If you are leaving the bleed screw open the entire time, it can suck air back in every time you are releasing the primer button. Yep, a lot harder to do it each time, but also more effective.

Honestly, once you have fuel of any sorts coming out of either, the truck should start right up. I have only had to do one or the other, and I have run out of fuel numerous times, all for dumb reasons. From there, if you are having running or full power delivery issues, be sure to replace your flexible lines on the suction side, and pull/inspect the pickup tube in the tank. Make sure fuel filters are clean and seated correctly and firm, any captive sealing washers positioned correct. These are known air intrusion points on these trucks.

Flatlander