• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Alternative 24V DC Charging System Installation

1800 Diesel

Ok I did a few searches on the forum but couldn't find much discussion other than solargizer usage. Either I'm not good at using the search feature or there's just no material posted.

I've got two MEP2s that are showing no-charge readings while running. I plan to go through the "Speddmon checklist" on both of them but in the event the stator is found to be defective I am working up a "Plan B" 24V charger installation, complete with a on/off switch, circuit breaker (for the AC side) & a charger on indicator light. An option could also be to install an actual voltmeter showing voltage reading, though this would be redundant since the unit already has the on-board gauge showing the "red" or "green" battery charging condition.

Things to consider:

1) Where to tap in to get the 120VAC? My first thought, piggyback on the same line that feeds the convenience outlet fuse, though on the "un-fused" side so this new circuit doesn't affect the 15-amp breaker load.

2) Where to install the charger? Possibly underneath the control cubicle on one the frame components and on small shock isolators.

3) Where to install the breaker, switch & indicator light. Thinking here to go into the control box. It's tight in there but there's enough real estate for these components and this location would minimize AC wiring lengths.

4) DC wiring would simply ride the existing harness to the battery & starter area.