• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Black Out Light Replacements

SOGsniper

I'm new to the CUCV world. I recently purchased a 1985 M1009. It was basically stock except for the snow plow mount. I have done some minor upgrades, console, stereo, roll on bedliner. I was wondering if anyone has come up with any white LED replacements for the standard black out lights in the bumpers? Thinking they would be a good location for some off road LEDs to help see a little better while plowing or off roading. Just seeing if anyone else has done anything similar.
Thanks.

cucvrus

While plowing? The lights would be behind the plow and very low. Are you referring to the small holes in the front bumper? I installed a set of white LED's in the rear bumper slots just to fill the holes. They are not very bright. But I was just looking to put something in the empty spots. LED truck lite plow lights would do the job for you. I have a few sets on plow trucks.
http://www.truck-lite.com/webapp/wc...estType=Base&categoryId=13092&catalogId=10002

SOGsniper

Yeah I am considering a small light bar on the grill guard as plow lights, I'm only doing my own driveway. I have looked at several different brands of "rock lights" to fill the small cutouts in the bumpers.

SOGsniper

Thanks! Does anyone have pictures of the blackout lights turned on? Mine were not functioning when I got it, broken wires, and they have been painted over.

Mainsail

Steel Soldiers Supporter
That would be a tough picture to get; they're really only visible when it's completely dark outside.