• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

? Bleeding brakes, AW32, Hydraulic oil

s4mm4n16

Hello, I just bought an M109A3 and I'm new at this. The truck has a soft pedal. It's in great shape and I believe has low mileage and hours. My buddy and I where going to bleed the brakes, but where not sure what to use in the master cyl. There is a tag inside the door with the name of the unit which did the maintenance on the truck with a phone #. So we called and spoke to a very nice mechanic. The fluid in the 109 I have is lemon yellow and I told him this. He told me that it's hydraulic oil 10 wt. I went to the hydraulic shop and they told me AW32 = 10wt. I called the mechanic again and he said that was correct. I asked why hydraulic oil instead of DOT 5. He told me that when units operate outside of the US, DOT 5 is not always available or accessible to a isolated unit and that 10 wt usually is. So now they use this. I played with some DOt 5 and the oil. They seem to mix and act compatable. I took a sample of the stuff in the master cyl and mixed it too. Didnt see any problem with this either. Anybody know about this? Thanks

stumps

That mechanic is feeding you a line of BS that will ruin your day for a week or more if you follow it.

If you put hydraulic oil into your master cylinder, you will very shortly need to replace all of the rubber parts in your master cylinder, air pack, and wheel cylinders. You will also have to remove every last drop, or smear of oil that is inside of the brake lines, wheel cylinders, etc..

The rubber used in brake parts is not compatible with any petroleum product. It will swell up so much that it fills all available space in the various assemblies.