• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Bombardier MLVW , anyone know these beasts ?

keet

I got my eye on a 1982 Bombardier MLVW 6x6 . If I do get her she will be bobbed and hot rodded . This is a Canadian military vehicle and is similar to the American deuce and a half . Is anyone here familiar with this vehicle ? The info out there on them is limited . I would love to talk to someone who worked on and owned one . The guy who is selling her don't know a lot about them which sucks . Thanks gang

eaw46

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Its an M35 built under licence by Bombardier in Canada. The Canadian Govt. will not let these be licensed for on road use if they are sold by Crown Assets Disposal. The truck has a lot of parts that are proprietary and hard to find. There was no bidding the contract was just given to Bombardier to appease Quebec. I would rather have an M35 built by just about anyone else. Bombardier does not have a good reputation for build quality. The Iltis is also built by them under licence and is not even close to the quality of the Austrian/German VW original. Kia also builds an M35 and it would be a better buy than a Bombardier.

oboyjohn

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Greetings from Montreal! I worked almost 25 years on the MLVW`s. I have not owned one myself (came close) but would be happy to answer any questions you have about maintenance and upkeep. There are a few, very few, MLVW`s out there that were licensed for road use before the government added on the `not for road use`clause. I believe the main sticking point was the single circuit bakes system.

Cheers!

sigo

Lieutenant Colonel
Steel Soldiers Supporter