• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Breaking Tire Bead

USMC6062

I have a set of 20 stud combat wheels that I'm trying to get the old tires off of. I have successfully got all the nuts off without out galling the threads, but can't get the dang rims out of the tires. I tired what worked before on another set of two piece wheels, but didn't work this time. I strapped the tire to a tree and bolted a plate to the rim half and pulled on it with my tractor. It flexes the tire apart, but the bead is stuck to the rim. I've tried prying, beating on it, soapy water, gas (read that on here somewhere), and anything else I can think of, but the beads won't budge. The tires are pretty old, so they have been on the rims for probably 10 years or more. With the beadlock insert, I can't press the tire down on the rim using a highlift jack to break the bead, and I don't see a slide hammer or duckbill sledge doing anything either. So whats the trick to unsticking the beads on these things?

jatonka

ever try inflating it with all the nuts off the bolts? Just asking, but if you use a clip on air chuck and get it outdoors and watch from behind a tree, if might work and could be a little fun to talk about on here sometime.

USMC6062