• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Buying a Deuce - Any hints?

Corvette1974

Howdy,

I am going to look at an M35A2 this week, I have watched every deuce video there is, read every post I can.... what do I need to look for that I might miss when I check out this M35? It looks pretty clean and the owner says he drives it a lot. Any special ways to check for bad head gasket or brake issues other than just using my brain haha Never owned one before, currently own a M1028 CUCV, along with many other machines. I am a farm manager and head mechanic (along with an IT guy) so I deal with big stuff on a regular basis. Just looking for that insider scoop :D

Thanks,
Will

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
Ask how deep of mud hes been through. Ask if you can pull a hub. If hes been through mud and not serviced the brakes / bearings, your in for a lot of preventative maint.

The rest is normal stuff. Listen for sounds. See if the motor was started before you got there, thats a bad sign. Check oil, coolant, brake fluid(in the floor).

rosco

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Crawl under it - look inside the frame rails. If its been in the mud, it will be packed inside the rails where the brake lines & wiring are. As old as most of these trucks are, mud packed for years can cause corrorsian on the copper lines & fittings. See if its had any grease on the fittings. Leaking wheel cylinders?

Corvette1974

I read this! Thanks - great info. I have been lurking for years and literally read every deuce and cucv thread I can haha