• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Calling all MEP-803A mechanics

jimbo913

Found MEP-803 with a few hundred hours and not sure if I should pass and look for one with no issues or not. I am new to these so I need to learn all the issues and fixes.
Seller states that start switch on panel only makes the starter click. Starts it using the secondary start switch after manually holding the electric fuel shut off. Where is secondary start switch and what wiuld cause that?

Also, I am not positive it is making power. Should the hertz gauge be working all the time if running? What does the AC interupter switch do? How often do the actual gen heads fail with low hours

I think that the issues must be minor and simple fixes but hate to spend money and have a motor but no generator.

oh and the linkage above the oil filter is tied back. Is that a fuel pump? Its a long way from me so trying to decide if its even worth checking out.

Thanks

R Racing

Well I may be able to answer 2 of your questions. the other switch is in the engine compartment. and it should generate power at start up. that could have to do with the field not being flashed because its not starting from the primary switch. also could you provide state and town in your location. its da rules.

DieselAddict

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I agree with R Racing that the master switch is not flashing the field. After the engine is running you can throw the master to "START" and see if it flashes?

Do you have any photos of the unit you can post? Do you have the fuel cut solenoid like you see in this image (this is an 802 but similar)?

IMG_2178a.jpg

zarathustra

Steel Soldiers Supporter