• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

CARC Prep

twrecks

I have been reading a lot about CARC and it's dangers as I get ready to repaint my bobbed 5 ton. One question I have is, is it generally assumed that all military vehicles are painted with CARC? Mine looks like it's covered in old latex flat house paint. I'm not doing a restoration or show piece, I just want to repaint a custom work truck. My plan for paint prep was to wash it with degreaser and a pressure washer, scuff with a scotchbrite, wash it again and roll the paint on. I do have a couple of hard edges where the old paint has peeled off I thought I might feather down with an orbital sander but that's about it. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

ralbelt

I'm not a pro painter but when I did my M1008 about 3 years ago I power washed then hit the entire body with a DA using a good respirator, and sprayed, with CARC. In a few places where I missed with the DA I have a few peels. I would sand the entire truck, any paint job is only as good as its base and prep.

Last edited:

215Dave

:ditto:
Paint job is only as good as the prep job. Sand everything you want paint to stick too. Most of us are using a single stage paint for our finish, so at minimum finish sanding with 220 grit to avoid seeing sanding marks in your paint job

MarcusOReallyus

One question I have is, is it generally assumed that all military vehicles are painted with CARC? Mine looks like it's covered in old latex flat house paint.
A lot of folks here have used house paint instead of CARC. Really makes some folks mad, but it seems to work. Quite a few threads about it. You could do some reading an pick up some tips.