• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Cb Antenna

spentshell

I found this while searching an old post.

http://flashoffroad.com/radio/Milantenna/milAntenna_cb.htm

Has anyone tried to do this conversion?
I just recieved an early Christmas present from my parents and low and behold its the Cb my old man let me pick out for my Deuce. I was going to mount the antenna on the passanger side mirror, its a 3' firestick with tunable tip. Now im thinking its to close to the stack, probably have interference. What other spots are good for mounting cb radio antenna on a Deuce? If anyone has pictures of there install dont be shy and postem, im trying to get some ideas.

ems4ty

As a Ham Radio Operator myself callsign KI6LMI, I can say that you want your antenna mounted as high as possible and securely grounded to the vehicle. If you are mount is being bolted to wood or a non-metal surface then you'll need a grounding strap. DO NOT USE standard wire as a grounding conductor as this can impose a Ground Loop Feedback in your radio gear. Use a strap.

As far as where to mount the antenna, it depends. For Instance, My RT-524 rig's antenna was mounted on the drivers side front of the bed. Typically though, you want the whip to be as high as possible and clear of any metal objects as this can effect the SWR of the antenna. Not too big of a deal if you have an auto-tuner to compensate for it. But since you have a Hamstick that is manually tuned, you'll need to check the SWR once you have it installed. Be very careful to check the SWR as an excessive reading will blow out your finals in the radio. The best SWR is a 1:1. Generally, anything under 2:1 is good. 3:0+ and I'd begin to worry.

Hope this helps.