• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Choosing my first Deuce

56FordGuy

Hey all. I've decided to buy a deuce (an A2, to be specific), and need some advice. I've decided that I definitely want a winch equipped truck, but beyond that and general running condition I don't know what to look for. I've seen trucks advertised with Hercules, White, and Continental engines. I've seen guys on here talk about trucks with and without turbos. Was the turbo restricted to one make of engine, or was it put on everything past a certain manufacture date? I've also been told some trucks came equipped with air locking differentials in the rear. Is there any truth to this, and if so what do I look for in the truck to identify them?

I'm new to old military vehicles. Is there anywhere I can really read up on these trucks, either online or in a book?

Thanks!

Westech

CPL
ok one at a time... type of engine.. who cares there just all about the same. Turbo yes you want one. little more power and lot less smoke. A "C" turbo its really loud and a "D" turbo is not as bad.. about the same power out put. The guys with "D" turbos are weak and cant handle real military noise. (that should make some waves)