• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

civilianize my 1008

Obijuank5

This may be considered ban worthy, but id like to add some chrome to the 1008. Truck will stay carc 383 for the most part.
In particular I want to do a core support swap with the stacked dual headlights. Grille surround with the chrome trim and add the gold bowtie with keeping the cucv grille. Additionally drip rails with chrome mirrors and maybe some wheel well trim. I will also add clearance lights whether I do the rest or not.

Has anyone else felt so compelled to shame a cucv with chrome? and did it come out as good as I hope it would?
I am not a proclaimed MV purist by any means but I do love and respect my chevrolets.

Thanks for any help!

Obijuank5

Exactly. what I'm wondering is why has it seemingly not been done. To me it's no different than adding an overdrive or nice seats.
Seems like a cucv gets kept mostly stock.

I can only find one photo of a 1008 with a civvy grille. I'd like to see what it might look like.

cpf240

If you are worried about what others think about it, post in the hot-rodding / modding portion of the CUCV forum.

In any case, your truck, do what you want with it.

86m1028

Matt
Can't believe you joined !
Chrome !!! Really ???
Put that chrome on your blazer ...
Post up some pics of that m1008

machinist75

I live down the road from ray and am building a cucv suburban clone and it has the dual headlight setup. Your more than welcome to come over and swap with me.

Obijuank5

Hey ray. I figured you'd be here. You know I love my trim. Also, I'm pretty sure we've sold parts to each other for your burb. Lol small world. I'd love to swap but texas is an awfully large small world. I got some local trucks to pick from. Thank you though.